Become THE hotspot with our 50 amazing bar promotions! Download our free guide now

Thread: Can drink prices be a promotion?

Lightbulb Can drink prices be a promotion?

I just joined but I've been staring at posts here for so long that I feel somewhat bug eyed. The talent and creativity here is quite impressive.

I've been operating neighborhood restaurants for over 30 years and I find it necessary to get back into the business. During that thirty years I originated some interesting promos, strategies and stolen and improved upon many more. I've always promoted food as a revenue stream. A lot of bars have overlooked the money making aspect of food and have suffered the loss of this revenue stream.

Now that I have to get back into this business I am presented with a good opportunity where the emphasis will be on dining at the landlords insistence. Depending on how the final deal is written, I may not be able to have a DJ or live entertainers. My wife's 21 year old drop dead gorgeous niece visited this weekend and I asked her where her friends liked to party. Her response shocked me. Though the group can afford to blow money, she said they go where the drinks are cheap. They may occasionally go elsewhere for special parties but the cheap places are where they prefer to go.

So this leaves me with this question for this august body of minds. Are cheap drinks enough to draw folks out after ten pm? I'll have a very nice modern atmosphere with good food but is cheap enough?

I would say no to just cheap drinks. Not sure what exactly it takes but it seems to me location is one of the most important, atomosphere. Have you ever gone in a dive bar that rocks, you look around and wonder what is the draw? I have seen locations that have been bars for 50 years and do well to ok depending on management. You cant run people off. I am referring to small neighborhood bars here, I am sure the big nightclub people will have different opinion. Will love to here others thoughts